Home  >  About  >  Huaqiao University

Huaqiao University

Huaqiao  University (HQU) was established by the Chinese central government in 1960 in  Quanzhou, a coastal city in Fujian Province in the Southeast of China, for the  education of overseas Chinese. The first president of HQU was Mr. LIAO Chengzhi,  an outstanding social activist and senior state leader of China. In 2004, a  landmark decision was made to build a second campus in Xiamen city, one of  China’s four earliest special economic zones, and that campus was inaugurated in  2006.


For more than  half a century, HQU has developed into a comprehensive institution of higher  education capable of program offerings in 12 disciplines--philosophy, economics,  law, education, literature, history, science, engineering, agriculture, medical  science, management, and arts. HQU has a comparative strength in Chinese  language and culture education, science and engineering programs, such as  Mechanical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Architecture, Material Science and  Pharmacy. Overall, the 29 colleges and 90 research institutes have been  supporting numerous projects funded by both government and industries, one of  which led to the award of the National Science and Technology Development by the  central government.


The Quanzhou  campus hosts most of the humanities, social sciences, and management programs,  while most of the engineering programs are situated in the Xiamen campus.